Assassin's Heart (Hardcover)

Assassin's Heart By Sarah Ahiers Cover Image
$17.99
Email or call for price

Description


With shades of Game of Thrones and Romeo and Juliet, this richly imagined fantasy from debut author Sarah Ahiers is a tale of love, lies, and vengeance. Fans of Kristin Cashore and Rae Carson will devour the flawlessly crafted action and inventive world building.

Seventeen-year-old Lea Saldana is a trained assassin. She was born into one of the nine clipper Families in the kingdom of Lovero who lawfully take lives for a price. As a member of the highest-ranking clan, loyalty to Family is valued above all, but that doesn't stop Lea from getting into a secret relationship with Val Da Via, a boy from a rival clan. Despite her better judgment, Lea has fallen in love with him; but she's confident she can anticipate any threat a mile away.

Then she awakens one night to a house full of smoke. Although she narrowly escapes, she isn't able to save her Family as their home is consumed by flames. With horror, she realizes that Val and his Family are the only ones who could be responsible. Devastated over his betrayal and the loss of her clan, there's just one thing on her mind: making the Da Vias pay. The heart of this assassin craves revenge.

About the Author


Sarah Ahiers spent her childhood running around outside with her siblings, drawing pictures, and writing stories. Now, as a grown-up, she has an MFA in writing for children and young adults, and while she does less running around outside, the writing has held fast. Her books include Assassin’s Heart and Thief ’s Cunning. Sarah lives in Minnesota with three dogs and a houseful of critters. She has a collection of steampunk hats, and when she’s not writing she fills her time with good games, good food, good friends, and good family. To learn more about her, visit www.sarahahiers.com.

Praise For…


“An electrifying debut that captivated me from the first nail-biting chapter. Spellbinding!” — Gennifer Albin, New York Times bestselling author

“Love, death, family—and vengeance. This gripping fantasy thriller will keep you turning the pages all night long.” — Laura Ruby, author of the Printz Award-winning Bone Gap

“A lavishly constructed fantasy world with an intricate society.” — Kirkus Reviews

“Equal parts adventure, romance, and politics, Ahiers’ first novel is astonishingly good. This is a unique twist on a love story, and the exciting Godfather-esque plotline adds layers of intrigue. Fans of Robin LaFevers’ His Fair Assassins series will snatch this one up in a heartbeat. — Booklist (starred review)

Ahiers’s Romeo and Juliet-inspired world of gods, angry ghosts, and assassins is darkly lush, and Lea’s voice is strong and pragmatic, making for a stylish and rich read. — Publishers Weekly

Product Details
ISBN: 9780062363787
ISBN-10: 0062363786
Publisher: HarperTeen
Publication Date: February 2nd, 2016
Pages: 432
Language: English