Start your holiday shopping by clicking image below!

RAMP Front Cover 2021 FINAL_med.jpg

On the Day the Horse Got Out (Hardcover)

On the Day the Horse Got Out Cover Image
$18.99
Email or call for price.

Description


Perfect for fans of They All Saw a Cat or Du Iz Tak?, here is a standout picture book debut about curiosity, cause-and-effect, and connectedness, which blends child-appealing rhyme with playful, distinctive artwork.

In this gorgeously rendered tale, Audrey Helen Weber masterfully blends suspense and nonsense, imaginative artwork, and a flawless rhythm that evokes some of the most beloved read-aloud classics, from Mother Goose to Eric Carle. On the day the horse got out . . the bells all rang,the birds flew south,the rabbit dug a bit too deep,and the beetle cried out in its sleep... But what happened to the horse? Did she find what she was looking for? Drawing on the influence of nursery rhymes, fables, folklore, folk art, and mythology—and combined with Audrey Helen Weber's own playful and surreal sensibility, page-turning suspense and read-aloud magic—here is a transcendent journey that tells a new story with every read.

About the Author


Audrey Helen Weber grew up in central Massachusetts and studied theater design and drawing at Hampshire College. For years she created zines and short comics, and On the Day the Horse Got Out is her children's book debut. Audrey's artwork has been featured in numerous publications, including the New York Times Book Review and the New Yorker online. She lives in western Massachusetts, where she has also worked on the education team at the Eric Carle Museum of Picture Book Art.

Praise For…


* "Creating a nursery rhyme that sounds suitably timeless is a challenge, but newcomer Weber's verse passes the test, and so do her haunting spreads, which carry whiffs of folk art and medieval books of hours."โ€”Publishers Weekly

"Visual stunning, highly imaginative, and delightfully baffling."โ€”Kirkus Reviews

"With groovy illustrations on pale yellow backgrounds and retro lettering on its cover, [this] feels like an old favorite from the 1960s. There's a slightly psychedelic quality to the story it tells 3-to-7 year olds, too, as the world reacts when a horse escapes its paddock."โ€”The Wall Street Journal
Product Details
ISBN: 9780316459846
ISBN-10: 0316459844
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: June 1st, 2021
Pages: 40
Language: English