The Deceived (Jonathan Quinn #2) (Mass Market)

The Deceived (Jonathan Quinn #2) By Brett Battles Cover Image
Email or call for price.


A freelance operative and professional “cleaner,” Jonathan Quinn knows better than to get emotionally involved in any of his jobs. But Quinn’s latest job is different. A friend has been murdered. A woman has gone missing. And for Jonathan Quinn, this time it’s personal.

When Quinn is called to a busy L.A. port where a shipping container has just come in from the sea, he is stunned by what he finds: inside the crate is a dead man—a man who once saved Quinn’s life, a former CIA agent named Steven Markoff. Now Quinn has to do more than clean. He has to find Markoff’s girlfriend, Jenny, who’s disappeared, to tell her that Markoff is dead. And he has to find out why someone sent Markoff’s body to him. Joining forces with his colleague and closest friend, Orlando, Quinn won’t stop until he uncovers the truth behind his friend’s violent death, the astounding reason Jenny vanished—and what she knows about the most explosive deception of all.

About the Author

Brett Battles lives in Los Angeles and is the author of two acclaimed novels in the Jonathan Quinn series: The Cleaner, which was nominated for a Barry Award for Best Thriller and a Shamus Award for Best First Novel, and The Deceived. He is at work on the fourth book in the series.

Praise For…

“Breakneck pacing, colorful locales and dizzying plot twists make the Quinn series a welcome addition to the political thriller genre.”—Publishers Weekly

“Plenty of globetrotting, nonstop action, plot twists, tight writing, whiz-bang high-tech devices, tradecraft, and a surfeit of dangerous women.” —Booklist

“Highly recommended….Lots of tradecraft.”—Library Journal, starred review

“Jonathan Quinn is a unique and welcome addition to the world of crime fiction.”—Jeffery Deaver

“A fast-paced spy thriller. Quinn is one part James Bond, one part Jason Bourne.” —Nashville Book Worm
Product Details
ISBN: 9780440243717
ISBN-10: 0440243718
Publisher: Dell
Publication Date: June 23rd, 2009
Pages: 480
Language: English
Series: Jonathan Quinn