The Orphan's Tale (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
The Orphan's Tale Cover Image
$15.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews


Pam Jenoff’s research into these atrocities  of WWII is the core of her new book, The Orphan’s Tale.  Sixteen year old Noa, abandoned by her family because she’s has become pregnant by a Nazi solder and then forced to give up her baby is now living in a train station.  One day she discovers a horrible scene, a boxcar filled with Jewish infants on their way to a concentration camp. She instinctively takes one of the babies and runs away.  Her escape leads her to a German traveling circus.  The bond between Noa and Astrid, a trapeze artist is so engrossing and the story so vivid, you will never forget them and the life they lived.  Whether the circus can protect them in France is doubtful.  As in “All the Light We Cannot See’ the victims always hoped it would be different in France and for a while it was, but not for long.  This is an incredible story that will stay with me for a long time.  I highly encourage you to read The Orphan’s Tale,  one of my new favorite books.  And when you finish read the section on the author’s comments.  Pam Jenoff has done some marvelous research.

— From Rita's Picks

Description


Look out for Pam's new book, The Lost Girls of Paris, a story of friendship and courage centered around three women and a ring of female spies during World War II.A New York Times bestseller "Readers who enjoyed Kristin Hannah's The Nightingale and Sara Gruen's Water for Elephants will embrace this novel. " --Library Journal"Secrets, lies, treachery, and passion.... I read this novel in a headlong rush." --Christina Baker Kline, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Orphan TrainA powerful novel of friendship set in a traveling circus during World War II, The Orphan's Tale introduces two extraordinary women and their harrowing stories of sacrifice and survival Sixteen-year-old Noa has been cast out in disgrace after becoming pregnant by a Nazi soldier and being forced to give up her baby. She lives above a small rail station, which she cleans in order to earn her keep... When Noa discovers a boxcar containing dozens of Jewish infants bound for a concentration camp, she is reminded of the child that was taken from her. And in a moment that will change the course of her life, she snatches one of the babies and flees into the snowy night. Noa finds refuge with a German circus, but she must learn the flying trapeze act so she can blend in undetected, spurning the resentment of the lead aerialist, Astrid. At first rivals, Noa and Astrid soon forge a powerful bond. But as the facade that protects them proves increasingly tenuous, Noa and Astrid must decide whether their friendship is enough to save one another--or if the secrets that burn between them will destroy everything.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780778319818
ISBN-10: 0778319814
Publisher: Mira Books
Publication Date: February 21st, 2017
Pages: 368
Language: English